SOPA co-sponsor, Senator Roy Blunt decides our picture is his for the taking…

Vice Magazine in London brought it to our attention that Senator Roy Blunt has been using a photograph my husband took on our cross-country horseback ride last year without permission. Maybe a bit of a faux pas for a man backing the SOPA act? I suppose it’s possible that I don’t know all the details of the act. It’s possible that in fine print it reads, “No one can steal from the internet but Roy Blunt.” It would only make the act a hair more ridiculous than it already is.

If Vice Magazine had not contacted us we never would have known he was using our image. The worst part is Sojourner and I are in the photo! His tweets cover us once the page fully loads, but if your computer is slow to load, then there we are. I do not support this politician and cannot believe he would have the nerve to use not only our photo, but a photo I’m in for one of his sites.

After posting this news on facebook word got around fast and as of a few minutes ago Roy Blunt has changed the photo. I have yet to hear from him (I wrote to him a few days ago). Above is a shot my friend got of Roy Blunt’s twitter page before he changed the photo.

3 thoughts on “SOPA co-sponsor, Senator Roy Blunt decides our picture is his for the taking…”

  1. What a (RAT). Sorry , however it really bothers me that politicans think they can do as they feel without any consequences. I would hope that he would at least have the nerve to email you or respond back to you . It will be interesting to see what he has to say for himself. He obviously knew he had been in the wrong or he would not have changed his photo. Good Luck Linny. Keep us posted as to how it turns out.

  2. Hey! Yeah, I know. It bothers me too. I don’t know that I’ll hear from him, but he did decide that he isn’t going to support the SOPA or PIPA act which is better than him contacting me. My oh so wise mom (and Democrat) reminded me that he should be commended for changing his position. She thinks I should write a letter to tell him that it’s appreciated. I think it’s easy to feel like you’ve defeated (I mean as a people, not personally. I didn’t really do anything) and it’s easy to forget to acknowledge that the person did make a change. With that said, I don’t support this guy as a politician whatsoever. He did, however, say that he signed it before he realized it would contradict the first amendment and freedom of speech which is something he doesn’t want. Who knows though…so many of them seem to talk from their bum holes, don’t they?

Leave a Reply

