Opening…

Meet Cache. 7 yr old straight egyptian arabian…

After Sojourner died I told myself I would someday get a horse from a rescue. I felt like this would be a way to honor him. I met Cache a while ago at Live and Let Live Farm in Chichester, NH through my friend, Rick. Since meeting him I would have huge mood swings of feeling ready and then feeling very sad and just missing Soj.

One time I went to visit Cache alone. I stayed maybe 10 minutes and cried the entire hour and a half back home. I came to realize, though, that my need to hang on to only Soj was keeping my heart closed. A little less than 2 weeks ago we went to pick up this sweet Arabian. He doesn’t know much of anything, but he was loved on and pet a lot when he was a baby so he’s sweet and loves attention.

I’ve worked with him every day since he came and he is incredibly smart. He’s longing in both directions beautifully, leg yielding (lateral cross with front legs) and disengaging his hind quarters. His rear end is tight and he’s a little unsure about being messed with too much back there so I’ve been focusing on that a bit and he’s relaxing into it. Cache and Star and I went for a walk to the lower field today and he was definitely alert, but pretty cool, all things considered.

Soj would love this little guy. They’re similar in a lot of ways. I like that Cache is nearly black and Soj was mostly white. I think of it as balance…the yin and the yang. I’m only fostering him right now which is what I feel comfortable with at the moment. My goal for now is to get him great on the ground and then to a safe riding place. Soon…we dance.

22 thoughts on “Opening…”

    1. Oh my gosh. I didn’t realize you didn’t know. He slipped under his fence and was hit by a car last fall. He wasn’t hit hard and the man said he didn’t even fall, but it shattered his short pastern. We took him to a really good equine clinic in Southern NH, but they weren’t able to operate. I couldn’t believe it. Such a little bone and yet there was nothing they could do. I couldn’t understand that at first, but I’ve had some really generous vets take the time to explain the whole system, how the blood is pumped up from the hooves, etc. I wanted them to just give him a prosthetic. It has been my biggest challenge to accept that it happened. It’s such a massive loss. Thank you for your condolences.

      1. Wow…. incomprehensible!!! I will continue to send positive healing energy your way. Xox.

  1. I didn’t realize that you had lost your horse. I am very sorry for that. Loss of a horse is one of life’s greatest pains. Now, I am really happy for you that you have brought this new horse home and offered him a second chance. I love Live and Let Live Farm and attended a clicker training clinic there several years ago. Great folks. Thank you for opening your heart and adopting. I wish you both all the best!

    1. That’s cool that you’ve been to the farm! Yeah, they’re great. Teresa was so open right from the get-go.
      It definitely was/is one of my greatest pains, for sure. I miss him all the time. Just all the time. Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad that spunky little horse is out there. I’m sure it’s the Arabian blood, but he has so many similarities to Soj. It’s really sweet.

  2. Linny . . . amazing how long the grieving/recovery process takes, isn’t it? Or is it?
    So glad you’re creeping back closer to here and now . . . makes me feel like the sun suddenly broke free from behind the clouds!
    Enjoy your journey . . .

    1. Thanks, Rick. Yeah, I know what you mean by “isn’t it..or is it?” I think I’ll always carry an ache for Soj. Along with really wonderful memories, too. Talk about a hit to the gut. But Cache does bring light with him. He’s a pretty special little horse.

      1. You’re welcome, Linny!
        Of couse you’ll always ache for Soj! Maybe this will help:

        When you are sorrowful
        Look again in your heart,
        and you shall see that in truth
        you are weeping for that
        which has been your delight.
        -Kahil Gibran

        As the saying goes, and it’s true . . . the beat goes on!

  3. You never forget your old horse but surely there’s room in your heart for another one… Arabs are SO sensitive. I have one that’s 37 – my old endurance horse. Doing everything I can to keep him healthy and happy.

    1. That’s so great that you’ve still got your old endurance horse. I’m sure he’s very happy. Yeah, Soj is definitely forever imprinted on my heart (and my arm, soon!) It is really nice to have this sweet little guy around, though. He’s pretty cool.

  4. Cache is so beautiful and playful with you! The filming turned out great not out of focus at all. My heart breaks for you with Soj. Healing and transformation happen in their own time. Being a foster mom for Cache is so wonderful Linny. I can tell he appreciates it just from the way he plays with you in this video. Hugs and love to you. Char

    1. Oh I know. The lens is such a bummer! Baloo is getting so much better, but every once in a while he’ll bolt while I’m holding the leash and out goes everything I’m carrying from my arms. The camera actually went right over the side of a bridge so I’m lucky the whole thing didn’t die.

Leave a Reply

