New designs and times

Many of the people around me are transitioning and I am no exception. I think with Spring and warmer weather comes the need to move around a little and refocus while dreaming about running through fields on warm nights with outstretched arms (whatever can be done to make that more possible is what should be done!)

This is my new little barn studio. I still have the river studio, too, but it’s very hot up there in the summer and this way I can be where I can tend to my gardens and animals when I take little breaks throughout the day (instead of heading to the co-op where I will undoubtedly buy and spend more than I should).
barn studio

barn studio

barn studio

And the very best part….

barn studio

It’s a little bittersweet for me, this transition. This new little horse I’m fostering, Cache, is a very sociable, polite, and lovely horse. I usually have the barn doors open and he will stand right outside of them, just hanging out, while I work inside. That’s exactly what Soj would have done and exactly what I dreamed about when Soj was still alive. I was really working toward figuring out how to be with him more and this barn studio was one way to do that.

But the fact that it’s not my Sojer standing outside the door does not lessen the fact that there is still a very loving and sweet horse right there next to me. It’s a difficult switch for my heart and mind and definitely good practice in being open to change and to the fact that no matter what we plan, life is going to do what it will. We just have to roll with it and keep on finding beauty in it.

barn studio

I’ve been coming up with some new designs, too. I’m really into braided leather right now. This is just a prototype of what is to come. This bag still needs to be tweaked a little before I’ll put it out there, but this is the main idea. We all love floppy leather, but this leather is actually just a tad too floppy for a bag this size, I’ve learned. So, the next one will be made with a leather that holds its shape a bit better. In only a small amount of time the somewhat less pliable leather also becomes very soft and supple, but it will stand up on its own when set down which is nice for a bag.

floppy natural leather tote

floppy natural leather tote

floppy natural leather tote

floppy natural leather tote

floppy natural leather tote

floppy natural leather tote

And my latest custom order…

The Airborne Wallet:

airborne leather wallet

airborne leather wallet

airborne leather wallet

airborne leather wallet

airborne leather wallet

6 thoughts on “New designs and times”

  1. You’ve made that barn space so… well, I don’t know what the words are for that. Warm? Inviting? Rustic? In keeping with your work? Or your art? Both? The photos show the artist’s environment as an extension of the person/artist. Perfectly expressed. I can think of a braided leather item already; a bag built like a backpack for my cajon! Yeah! And the wallet, well, it’s just like mine and I should add that it is wearing like iron! I am in and out of it all the time every day and it is still like new.

  2. I have followed the adventures of you, Walter and Soj for a long time and am surprised to hear that Sojourner has crossed the Rainbow Bridge and is running free and healthy and happy in God’s pastures. I was wondering how long it has been since he made the crossing. I realize that this sounds insensitive but I care about horses and really enjoyed your adventure crossing the United States.

    1. Hi Patricia,
      Thanks for writing. Soj got out of his pasture last October and was hit by a car. He wasn’t hit hard and didn’t seem all that affected by it…just went on eating grass…but his short pastern was shattered. We took him to the equine clinic in Dover, NH, but they said they couldn’t operate. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to go through and I am still working through it. The whole accident was so unlikely and so weird. I miss him all the time, but I’m trying to keep my heart open for this little rescue horse I’m fostering. It doesn’t sound insensitive at all and I appreciate your care.

  3. Linny,
    My heart hurts for you and your loss of Soj. I followed you on your journey together, through my daughter in-laws sister from Maine. Seeing you ride bareback and barefoot reminded me of myself during my younger years. I loved every last minute of that journey, it was great! Thank you for sharing. Great memories you will have for a life time! I have much empathy for you, I also endured loss, I lost a couple of animals last September, my labradors; one to an old injury prior to us rescuing him. The other, I had for over twelve years. He was a constant companion and watched me with many art creations! Lol I salute you for being brave and caring for this new rescue. Hugs sent your way…

    The new studio is lovely. warm and inviting. I love the new designs, the braided purse and the wallet! You are so creative and an amazing woman! Please keep the pictures coming with that adorable dog too! Sincerely, Jan

    1. Thank you for your beautiful comment, Jan. I’m so sorry for your losses, too. I had a rough year and half with animals myself. Before Soj I also lost my dog and two cats. And a while before that nearly all my chickens in a bear/fox combo attack. It was crazy. Over the span of a year and a half there was just so much death. But I think sometimes it just happens that way for some reason. Now there is so much new life and that’s what I’m focusing on. It’s so hard to let go of these animals we love so, so much. I just have to hope that there really is more to this and that all of us are still connecting.

      I’m really enjoying the studio. It’s too cold to be out in it today, but it’s wonderful on warmer days! New Hampshire just forgot it’s actually Spring today. It was doing well for about a week, but I have the heat on today!

      More pictures to come!!

Leave a Reply

